Family & Consumer Sciences


Student Scholarships are available from the following organizations. Students will be informed by email when applications for the current year are available. Usually the application deadlines are in the spring semester.


IAFCS District I

Lakeshore Family and Consumer Sciences Association 

Kankakee County Family and Consumer Sciences Organization

Home Economics Foundation of the Peoria Area

Home Builders Association of Illinois " Student of the Year" Scholarship Program

Association of Golf Merchandisers (Merchandising)

The following scholarship awarded through the ONU Foundation:

Katie E. Kalemkarian Scholarship (Fashion Merchandising)

2007 Katherine Carr

2008 Lisa Jackson



A design award is provided every other year by TA Design, Kitchen Gallery of Bourbonnais. It is given to housing and environmental design students taking FACS 341 Kitchen and Bath Design. Awards are given to the three students who score the highest in the an Ugly Kitchen Contest (UKC). In the contest, the students are given a real client who as a kitchen that needs to be remodeled. Students interview the clients, measure their kitchens, and come up with a new design to meet the clients needs. Students present their designs in a formal presentation to the client. Designs are judged by kitchen and bath industry professionals.

2007-08 UKC Winners: Dana Ferguson, Lindsey Sherman, and Rachel Straub

Department Awards are given yearly to outstanding students.

2007-2008 Department Awards: Lindsey Sherman, Abby Hay, and Jessica Hanson







Return to Family & Consumer Science